Why does xanax take the pain away?

Hi all,
I’ve noticed that a low dose of xanax helps a lot with the pain left over after my surgery. Thank God I have not had to take other medication since surgery, but I find it strange that taking a xanax eases the ache in my face. Can anyone explain this to me?
Thanks.

I'm a nurse and a physical therapist. I found anxiety increases pain. The tension caused by the thought that this pain is going to get out of control. If I had a patient how demistrated intisipitory thoughts that if " that if i bend my injured knee I want be able to handle the pain" . Pain can radiate with increased anxiety. Pain starts in the right side of the face. Increased tension, decrease blood curcultion. Decreased curclation muscels scream for O2. Interpeted as pain. Pain radiates to the left side of face .

What kind of surgery did you go throu?

Hi Scott,

I had the MVD surgery but no compression was found.

Thanks for your reply:)

Jamie

In addition to the anti-anxiety effect, some meds have a chemical cross action between anxiety or depression control on the one hand and pain control on the other. This seems particularly true of meds that impact the calcium and sodium channels of CNS nerve function. If I'm remembering correctly, several of the anti-anxiety agents do act on one or both of these channels.

Go in Peace and Power

Red

Very interesting…thanks Red.

was it worth it . I’m on disability but still need to work to pay the bills. How is the recovery time. Have you been lyed up for a long time. I have to do physical labor becouse I’m so messed up with pain I can’t do nursing any more.

jamie leigh said:

Hi Scott,

Jamie

Hi Richard