Starting with an attack, should I start the Tegretol?

I have had a lot of tingling, some zaps, one attack of crushing pain around the corner of my mouth that lasted about ten minutes, five shocks (but not comparable to the ones I have read about), but something is starting and I'm not sure what to do. For several days I have had pressure and burning in the area of the last attack, and now it's coming more often and also several shocks near my ear. I was given tegretol, ER, 200 mg, one in the morning, two at night, but I will do anything to not have to start taking it. I'm going out of town next week and I'm concerned about the side effects. How long is it before the side effects go away? Is there anything else I can do, maybe something natural, to keep it at bay for as long as possible? I'll take as much as advice as I can get. Thank you all.

Hi Liz,

All i can say is that tegretol was a godsend to me. I got a degree of relief very soon after starting it...however, i felt like a drunk too. However, for me, if i can stop pain flares before they become full blown, it's easier to keep it under control. Once the pain is full on, it's much harder for me to get it "back in it's box".

So, if i were in your situation, i'd take the tegretol and see what kind of relief i could get. It might be worth the side effects.

As for natural relief...try to get lidocaine patches from your dr. They go on the skin. I can' t use them as my pain is primarily inside my mouth, but many on here swear by them. So call your dr and ask them to call you in a prescription for those and give them a try too.

Also, for me anyway, heating pad to my cheek/ear/temple area sometimes calms it down...as does taking a very hot shower (when i cant stand to touch my face)

Oh and i almost forgot....my dr also recommended i take B12. That is supposed to have something to do with nervous system health. Can't hurt, right?