Neck Surgery or MVD? What to DO first? HELP!:)

Hello Everyone,

Thank you for reading my post:) I have had constant ear pain and some neck, throat and jaw too. It has mostly been on the left and now it can also go to the right side. I have been sleeping with two ice packs for 10 Months! It is Nerve Pain in its worst form at times... Cannot take the common Meds due to a Major side effect, so Surgery is my most Hopeful option, even though it seems very scary. I Do have a very visible neck issue which in some cases can radiate up. It is not as common though. I have the typical numb fingers and hand. The severe pain is mostly upward into my ears and under jaw. I also get spasms or cramp like feelings on both sides of my neck. This has been confusing because it all started in my left ear and was thought to Geniculate or Glosso.N. MRI of Brain show vessels close to Ganglion, but they cannot see an obvious compression in the brain. The Neck however is obvious... I have to choose what to do first. Both Dr.s agree that either surgery may or may not help. Feeling pressure and want any input either way:)

Thanks & God Bless All of you:) Julie

Good Morning, Jewels... What common meds have you tried, and what side effect have you observed? Likewise, what is the "very visible neck issue?" Numb fingers and hand might imply scoliosis or other spinal deformation. Spasms in your neck could track to neuralgia of the greater occipital nerve, or to a spinal deformation. Are your doctors neurosurgeons or orthopedists? My instinct would be that you might profit from a joint consultation with people in both specialties.

Thank you for responding Richard,