Meds

Since being diagnosed with TN my dr first put me on prednisone to try to decrease swelling and hopefully get the nerve to calm down. Unfortunately that didn’t help.So I am currently on an ssri and a muscle relaxer called robaxin or methocarbamol and that paired with the prednisone still is not relieving my pain in any fashion. So here is my dilemma. I am a single mother of 2 little girls aged 3 and 5 and I am a full-time student with a full-time job as a hairstylist. I am already exhausted as the pain often keeps me up at night. But I am so afraid of the anticonvulsants making me even more tired or worse causing me to not be able to handle my responsibilities. So my question to all of you–my new found friends— is: What meds are you or have you been on? Do/did you like them? Why or why not?

I know each person is different but I would still like to see what everyone has to say.

Well they just increased my dosage of tegretol - its really not doing the job
Keep in mind that I have been cursed with having severe pain from 2 disorders in the same spot which really sucks.
Just when we were starting to make progress on one the other (TN) has shown up.
For pain- Oxycodone and Demerol (demerol will probably be switched to morphine on tuesday)
For migraines - Imitrex ( liked the topomax they had me on before but my insurance wont cover it)
Tegretol for TN - so far not impressed
For sleep - flexiril and nortryptolene
also on fingrin for nausea from all the meds

Really responded well to topamaxx - its classified as an anti seizure med but really helped with the migraines

Deserae,
I think it is better to try the meds for the pain instead of suffering. But I know what you mean about being tired and/or sleepy from them.
I take 3600 mg of neurontin, 450 mg of trileptal (oxcarbazepine), and tylenol 3 (3 pills a day most days). I also take courses of prednisone occasionally (100 mg decreasing over 3 days, to 90 mg 3 days, etc). I take axert for migraines.