Just wondering

I am fairly new to all of this (two months) and while the tegretol is working for the most part- I was wondering if what i am feeling has happened to anyone else...

Lately i have been having little zaps that jump all over the place. Today i had a mild electrical corkscrew pain behind the eye. I also had a "toothache" in the lower incisor. I had a onesided headachey feeling. Sometimes my ears feel clogged up. Sometimes I have a deep ear tingle. An earache kind of pain. Sometimes my jaw just feel tingly.

These feelings come and go very quickly. They are all over the place. But for the past year all i had was back molar pain-- always the same exact place --exactly like an absessed tooth--until the week i had the bad attack in all three nerve branches.

I don't know if i am crazy and paying such close attention to every sensation that i am imagining stuff or if it really can jump from spot to spot.

Also-- when do you up the meds-- when it is just noticable or when it really hurts-- these pains are low-- only about a 3.

Thanks for any info. I am so glad to not feel alone in this... would be loosing it without you all..

The pain does move around “at will”. If you study all the branches with all the possibilities, you begin to get a good picture. In my experience those anomalies that come and go at a “3” are better thought of as sensation and not labelled in the mind as pain. Make note, but don’t get too interested in thinking about them. Thinking of a sensation as pain can evoke the fear response, and the fear response gets the pain response going. It can become a viscous cycle and escalate quickly.

The thing about the meds is that after a number of years they could just stop working for you. I personally wouldn’t increase until I had to.

All that being said, best to check in with your doctor. It’s good to keep an official record about what is happening.

Bellalarke