"In many patients, TN is a progressive disorder..." What does "MANY" mean?

Since I got TN in 2001 I have countless times from countless sources seen the dreadful prognosis: "In many patients, TN is a progressive disorder which may become resistant to medication over time..." as well as the phrase "more intense, with fewer, shorter beaks in between..." Yet neuro doctor matter-of-factly says that if meds work now, they ought to keep working. So I'm sorry, I'm an engineer - I need relative terms! Is "many" 5% or 95%?? 50%?? I'm a failed MVD getting wicked breakthrough pains despite ten million milligrams of the Cadillac medicine Tegretol, looking for reasons to have hope and with THAT prognosis everywhere I turn, this is NOT cool. I'm only 46. This leaves a LONG time for stuff to get worse!

I know... I feel like I've been sentenced to remission/PTSD/remission/PTSD for life

I've had to come to the realization that whether active or not - its still there.

We are ONLY 12 in (100,000) so there have not been alot of studies on us.

You can find a top surgeon and go for a 2nd MVD perhaps to buy more time -- many many have (don't know how many)

How recent was MVD and was it closer to 2001 or now?

Have you tried anything topical like lidocaine patches? there is a whole group under the group tab - just for topicals

Keep posting - we're here! This place is the ONLY constant in my TN journey!

I wonder the same thing.

Just don't know the answer. I peaked out pain wise about 4 years in, and my meds still work. And I know of many who are still pain managed after 20+ years. Don't give up hope. And I worry only about today, the future can seem overwhelming at times and for all we know, the worst may not happen.