How do you make the decision/know when it is time to apply for disability?

I am currently on FMLA, not working, due to TN combined with fibromyalgia and a rheumatoid arthritis. My pain levels, fatigue and mental confusion, memory, etc. have gotten bad enough that I cannot do my job (I’m a grant writer) or much of anything (can't even keep crochet patterns straight!) and I do not see where I will be able to go back to work. I’ve had 2 MVDs, am currently on Trileptal and Lyrica (not sure I can stay on it) which dull the pain a bit. I’ve worked and been the “breadwinner” for most of my life (I’m 54) so I’m really at a loss as to how to proceed. Disability seems so drastic, but the reality is that I can’t work. So, how do you make the decision/know when it is time to apply for disability?

Thanks!

Pam

I am in the same boat you are. I still work and I have been a go getter my whole life but I can’t keep up anymore. I have been thinking about disability for a year now but I can’t get myself to do it. I haven’t worked a full day in a long time and have changed my hours all different ways to see if I can handle it. I feel like I have to be bionic woman and I just can’t do it anymore. I don’t know what to do. I feel like such a failure if I give up and that feels like what I’m doing if I don’t get up everyday and keep trying to go. I am miserable everyday but sometimes I feel like I would be more miserable if I’m not working. Sometimes I feel that it is therapeutic but other times I feel I just can’t do it. It is getting harder and harder. I just sent all my medical records to Dr. Casey to try to have one last hope. I have had 2 MVD’s and 2 Cyberknifes and now I have anesthesia dolorosa along with the TN, so I have 24 hours a day of chronic pain and discomfort but my mind says to keep fighting and my body says slow down. I wonder the same question as you “when is it time”?? Good luck to you and let me know what you decide and the process!!