Extreme skin sensitivity...Tegretol or TN?

For a while now, a month or two, my skin has been extremely sensitive. Sometimes to the point that a light touch hurts. Sometimes, a touch will shoot an electric shock from it's origin up to my trunk. ie. A light touch to my foot will run up my leg to my back. This happens anywhere on my body. It reminds me to how a light touch on my left cheek will trigger my TN shocks and pain.

I am on 200 mg x2 daily of Tegretol. I have been on this dose for almost a week. (I was at 200 mg before.) I don't know if the medicine has anything to do with it. I have side effects from the Tegretol that seem to be normal: dizziness, fuzzy brain, lack of balance, drowsiness, etc. I just wonder if this could be a side effect or if this is part of TN. (Anatomy-wise I don't think it would be due to TN but I'm not a doctor. lol)

Thanks!

-I

I'm not a medical doctor either, Ihold. But my intuition from 17 years of talking to TN patients is that you need to call your prescribing doctor's office and let him or her know of this reaction. If you're getting pain triggers from areas OTHER than your face, then I'd suspect a potentially allergic reaction to Tegretol, rather than an effect of TN itself. The dose range you're using so far is also on the low side of thereputic.

You might need to be tried on a different med, such as Oxcarbamazepine (Trileptal) or Gabapentin (Neurontin). Another angle on this is that you could be dealing with some other neuro disorder entirely, as well as the TN. Let your physician guide you on evaluating these symptoms.

Regards and best,

R.A. "Red" Lawhern, Ph.D.

Resident Research Analyst, LwTN

Hi:
I was very interested in your comment about a light touch causing pain from its origin to your trunk. Hopefully, you are under the care of a neurologist. He needs to evaluate this as soon as possible. I hope you find your answer soon and get back to us with his findings
God bless