Anticonvulsants actually causing pain?

Hello hello my lovely lot.

I’ve come on to muse and mumble again, I’m not sure if I’ve blogged about this on here or gone into it in much depth other than in individual conversations, but I saw someone posting about this and I lost the post ( the joys of not having to have a chance to reply at work!) And funnily enough the subject came up again on another board that I use this week too, so I thought I would come on and share my experience of it.

Now this is very much a personal and I am by no means telling anyone to come off their drugs, I am not a doctor or a medical professional in any way shape or form. I’m just becoming an old hand at the neuralgia business, and read all I can find, much like the rest of you, so please don’t take my word as gospel, it’s just what’s happened to me and my journey with this beast.

Now I’m at my 3 year point with this and eventually got my diagnosis of GPN after more than 2 years ( livingwithgpn.org is on it’s way for all you other glosso’s round here!) However that was a long time in coming and my diagnosis was muddied somewhat firstly by the fact that there is TN in my family already, and also that I was having extreme facial pain, so for long enough, all the diagnosis were focusing around TN and ATN etc.