Quantcast

Living With Facial Pain

TN Recent Diagnosis - Help

Hello everyone,

I have been in pain on and off for the past 5 months. At first I was put on antibiotics (3 rounds) because my doctor believed that I had a sinus infection. Then, after a few trips to the dentist, endodontist, and then back to the doctor’s office I was referred to a neurologist and been diagnosed with TN.
I was put on Oxcarbazepine and gradually increased the dosage to 600 mg. My doctor also suggested that I take 800 mg of Advil 3 times per day. I am still having a few episodes of pain per day. I am a teacher and have been off for the summer. However in a couple of week I am due to be back at work and I am really worried about teaching 5 classes in a row with the symptoms I have been having. I am not sure how I am going to do it.
I am really sad at the thought that I may not be able to handle my job.

I am looking for information and support. I would love to pass along to others anything I learn with my experience.

I can tell you advil isn’t going to do anything for you. TN is famous (or infamous) for not responding to OTC treatments, or pain meds in general, really. ATN (atypical TN) tends to respond to pain meds, usually narcotics, sometimes to lidocaine.

You may want to try a lidocaine patch just to see if it helps. It’s avail at the drugstore OTC under the name SalonPas and isn’t very expense to try. But be aware that TN will probably not respond to it, ATN probably will.

Thank you. I will get some today and I will let you know.

Sorry if I have not responded quickly. You see, I am a teacher, and our school has already started back.You know how that is! Yes,I am a teacher with TN, and have had TN for 9 years, and have taught full time for all of that time. I am a classroom music teacher, no less.